

FRIENDS OF IOWA WOMEN PRISONERS PO Box 71272, Clive, IA 50325

email: fiwp2011@gmail.com website: friendsofiowawomenprisoners.org

MEETING TIME AND LOCATION

Tuesday, May 17, 2016 12:00-1:00 p.m. Wesley United Methodist Church 800 E. 12th Street Des Moines, IA 50316-4304 Brown bag lunch

MISSION STATEMENT

To bring together and inform individuals and groups concerned about women in the Iowa correctional system and to act on their behalf.

INTRODUCTIONS and ANNOUNCEMENTS

REPORTS

ICIW Report – Warden Patti Wachtendorf Fresh Start – Peggy Urtz Treasurer – Rosemary Jungmann

PROGRAM/FOCUS

We welcome to our May meeting Dr. Jerome Greenfield, Director of Mental Health Services for the State of Iowa Department of Corrections. Dr. Greenfield is an Iowa native from Guthrie County. He went to Drake for his undergraduate education in Biology then to the University of Iowa for medical school. He did his psychiatric residency at the University of Kansas. He was in practice for 25 years most of those at Mercy Des Moines. He has been with the DOC for two years .

RECAP OF APRIL 2016 MEETING

Our April speaker was Mary Roche, Director of Victim & Restorative Justice programs for the lowa Department of Corrections. Mary began her career in victim services in 1989 as a volunteer for a local Battered Women's Shelter, later becoming a Rape Crisis Advocate and then Coordinator of a Domestic Abuse Program. She is a licensed mental health counselor and has been providing victim services in Corrections since 1999, also serving as Director of Victim Programs since 2008.

The ending of the Victim Impact program is a concern of ours and of Mary's. The goal of the program was to enhance offenders awareness of the impact of their crime on the victim and their family. Offenders rated the program highly, for many it was life changing. The Parole Board sees a difference between those who have been through the program and those who have not.

UPCOMING PROGRAM

We are delighted to have Marty Ryan presenting our June program. He will be doing a wrap-up of the 2016 Legislative session.

FIWP LEADERSHIP TEAM

Jean Basinger	jabwab@msn.com	277-6296
Betty Christensen	bettychris@mchsi.com	
Vi Darsee	vddarsee@q.com	225-8349
Dianne Fagner:		277-5406
Kirk Nesset:	knesset@meccaia.com	
Rosemary Jungmann:	jungmannr@gmail.com	229-5421
Deb Theeler:	Deb4tc@yahoo.com	402-6909
Terry Walker		515-490-3748
John Zeitler:	carmenandjohn@aol.com	710-7785